Here’s A Cozy Mystery That Will Have You Guessing For Only $2.99 – April 20

A VIEW TO DIE FOR is a suspenseful mystery with an odd couple for detectives – Jake, an freelance software engineer and a prediliction for McDonalds, and his golden retriever, Fred. Jake comes to his sister’s aide when she is accused of murder in a black widow insurance scam. 

Fans of David Rosenfelt Lawrence’s Block Burglar Books and Dean Koontz will enjoy A VIEW TO DIE FOR.

The author, Richard Houston, was inspired to write this novel from his discovery of a cave on his property and watching a tv show about Jesse James and the Golden Circle. He pictures George Clooney as Jake.

This is also available on Nook and Apple.

EXCERPT:

“What do you think, Boy? Did Jesse James really hide his coins here?” This time, Fred answered by running ahead to the cave. It was conceivable that Jesse’s gang had hidden some of their stolen loot along the river. Missouri was a Union state during the civil war, but someone forgot to tell the proud rebels of Truman and the rest of the Ozarks – including the James brothers. The brothers had been raised in Missouri and must have known the Osage River well. After the South lost the war, they returned to Missouri and continued their own private war against the local banks and trains. I figured the link to the James gang made the coins worth far more than the gold they were struck from. If the story could be verified, the coins would be worth a small fortune, maybe enough to kill for.


RICHARD HOUSTON

Richard is working on his third career. His first was as a carpenter and roofer for twenty years while working his way through college. With a BS in Math he spent the next twenty-five years as a successful software engineer by working on the Space Shuttle at both Vandenberg AFB, and Johnson Space Center. He then went on to start Master Mind SofTools where he developed software for fortune 500 companies.

My favorite place to write is my writing desk overlooks Lake of The Ozarks. It’s a great place to watch the boats and birds, but a terrible distraction for writing. Thus, it’s usually only after two am that I get any real work accomplished.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *